Washington FAMILY Magazine: Toys

Follow us on social media

Facebook Twitter Instagram Pinterest Google+ YouTube

Toys

Recent Headlines

Friday 02/16/2018
3-D Motokits
Updated: February 16, 2018 - 4:24 pm

3-D Motokits

Wednesday 02/01/2017
Kleynimals
Updated: February 06, 2017 - 4:21 pm

Kleyanimals are non-toxic, stainless steel toy keys designed to entertainment your baby and serve as a teething toy as well. Kleynimals come in a convenient muslin pouch which I really like because I can easily take it on the go and keep it sanitized. Each key features very cute designs of a lion, elephant and a giraffe and is very nicely detailed. It's clear that a lot of thought went into the design process.

Wednesday 11/09/2016
The World of Eric Carle Super Dough
Posted: November 09, 2016

One of our favorite children’s authors, Eric Carle, is known for his beautiful colors and beloved characters that are featured in his books. Kids Preferred is bringing these characters to life for children with their new clay compound, Super Dough. If your child loves hands-on play and creating/sculpting/molding, this is a great new product to check out!

Wednesday 10/12/2016
Floof
Posted: October 12, 2016

We have a big bin of arts and crafts supplies at our house, including lots of modeling substances – clay, playdough, sand – which are all used on a regular basis for hands-on sensory play. When we got the opportunity to try out the newest product called Floof, my children couldn’t wait for it to arrive.

Tuesday 08/02/2016
Floof
Updated: August 03, 2016 - 6:01 pm

We have a big bin of arts and crafts supplies at our house, including lots of modeling substances – clay, playdough, sand – which are all used on a regular basis for hands-on sensory play. When we got the opportunity to try out the newest product called Floof, my children couldn’t wait for it to arrive.

Wednesday 05/25/2016
Crashlings – An Alien Invasion
Posted: May 25, 2016

A new addition to the collectible mini figure market, Crashlings are "meteor mutants from outer space." There are over 150 of the tiny plastic figures to collect, divided into five categories: dinosaurs, insects, aliens, monsters and sea life. We got to take a peek at a 10-pack of the Alien series.

Friday 04/29/2016
Kimochis “Bug”
Updated: April 29, 2016 - 9:49 am

As parents, we are prone to try and suppress our children’s emotions. It’s not usually a conscious action, but a natural response, because we always want them to be happy, well behaved participants in society. Unfortunately, this can lead to bigger problems when children don’t learn how to properly manage and express their feelings.

Wednesday 02/03/2016
Celebrating with the BirthdayLand Characters
Posted: February 03, 2016

One thing every child looks forward to is his or her birthday. Developed by Digiplush, BirthdayLand is a magical place where kids can enjoy, imagine and play in a world with everything needed to celebrate a birthday.

Wednesday 01/27/2016
Sonic Boom Bat and Ball Set
Posted: January 27, 2016

Crack…whoosh…boom! As I stood by watching my father, husband and son try out the Sonic Boom, I quickly agreed the name of this bat and ball set is certainly accurate. Baseball roots run deep in our family, so my son already has a garage full of equipment: bats, balls, a tee and a glove. He was very excited to add another bat to the collection, especially one with a different look and feel than a traditional one.

Wednesday 12/16/2015
Musical Rudolph the Red-Nosed Reindeer Plush Toy
Posted: December 16, 2015

The classic holiday children's movie, "Rudolph the Red-Nosed Reindeer" has always been one of my favorites. The Rudolph plush toy is just as cute as the movie! The stuffed reindeer is soft and cuddly, but it comes alive when you press the music note on one of its hooves. Cheery voices sing the Christmas classic, "Rudolph the Red-Nosed Reindeer" while the plastic red nose blinks on and off.

Thursday 12/03/2015
Micro Mini2Go Kick Scooter
Posted: December 03, 2015

Micro’s Mini2Go Kick Scooter is such a great scooter for your preschool-aged child. The T-Bar extends to adjust with your child’s size and convert into the classic Mini Micro scooter.

Wednesday 11/18/2015
Wild Kratts: Pretend Play Fun!
Posted: November 18, 2015

PBS TV shows are big favorites around our house, and though we have only watched Wild Kratts a handful of times, the characters are very recognizable to my son. He is also in a dress-up/pretend play phase and loves having a large variety of costumes at his disposal. The Wild Kratts Creature Power Suit and the Creaturepod Projector are great additions to our collection!

Wednesday 04/29/2015
DC Comics Batman VRUM Ride-On & Toy Box
Posted: April 29, 2015

As soon as my 3 year-old saw this his eyes lit up! This ride-on is recommend for ages 2 and up, and I believe children 2-5 will love this toy.

Sunday 01/18/2015
Camp Travel Edition
Posted: January 18, 2015

Preschool (3-4 years) Elementary (5-9 years) Preteen (10-12) Teens/Adults (13+)

Friday 01/16/2015
Wacky-Tivities Kinetic Sand Beach Box Set Mom Review
Updated: February 10, 2015 - 10:57 am

The Wacky-Tivities Kinetic Sand Beach Box Set includes 1 lb of kinetic sand, 4 plastic sand molds and 1 plastic sandbox tray. The sand is made of 98 percent sand and 2 percent polymers. The cherry on top is it’s also wheat, gluten and casein free! It is also very durable since it doesn’t dry up like Play-Doh and the texture retains its form even after multiple uses.

Monday 01/05/2015
Beastie Balls
Posted: January 05, 2015

Infant (0-2 years) Preschool (3-4 years)

Sunday 01/04/2015
Puppet-on-a-Stick
Updated: February 11, 2015 - 2:33 pm

Preschool (3-4 years) Elementary (5-9 years) Preteen (10-12) Teens/Adults (13+)

Sunday 12/21/2014
Double-Sided Pencils
Posted: December 21, 2014

Preschool (3-4 years) Elementary (5-9 years) Preteen (10-12)

Tuesday 11/11/2014
Black Paper Sketch Pad
Updated: February 11, 2015 - 2:44 pm

Preschool (3-4 years) Elementary (5-9 years) Preteen (10-12) Teens/Adults (13+)

Tuesday 11/04/2014
About Face
Posted: November 04, 2014

Preschool (3-4 years) Elementary (5-9 years) Preteen (10-12) Teens/Adults (13+)

Wednesday 10/15/2014
Stacking Faces
Posted: October 15, 2014

Infant (0-2 years) Preschool (3-4 years) Elementary (5-9 years)

Sunday 10/05/2014
Boysterous Dolls
Updated: February 11, 2015 - 2:39 pm

Preschool (3-4 years) Elementary (5-9 years) Preteen (10-12)

Monday 09/08/2014
Bouncing Balls Kit
Posted: September 08, 2014

Elementary (5-9 years) Preteen (10-12) Teens/Adults (13+)

Thursday 08/14/2014
Journey Girls
Posted: August 14, 2014

Preschool (3-4 years) Elementary (5-9 years) Preteen (10-12)

Monday 08/11/2014
Diggin Boxsets
Updated: February 11, 2015 - 2:49 pm

Preschool (3-4 years) Elementary (5-9 years)

Wednesday 07/30/2014
Wild Cards
Posted: July 30, 2014

Preschool (3-4 years) Elementary (5-9 years) Preteen (10-12)

Wednesday 06/25/2014
Pentago Cruise Edition
Posted: June 25, 2014

Elementary (5-9 years) Preteen (10-12) Teens/Adults (13+)

Thursday 06/12/2014
Turnstile
Posted: June 12, 2014

Elementary (5-9 years) Preteen (10-12) Teens/Adults (13+)

Sunday 05/04/2014
Nutty Squirrel Pull Toy
Updated: February 11, 2015 - 3:10 pm

Infant (0-2 years) Preschool (3-4 years)

Saturday 01/01/2000
Mary Engelbreit's Paper Dolls
Updated: January 16, 2015 - 11:32 am

Mary Engelbreit's Paper Dolls:

Kinder Haus Toy Store
Updated: January 16, 2015 - 11:36 am

Embrace Your Inner Child

Crayola Digital Light Designer and Marker Airbrush
Updated: January 16, 2015 - 12:01 pm

 Old-Fashioned Art Supplies Outshine These New Crayola Products

Toy Corner Toy Store
Updated: January 16, 2015 - 12:07 pm

Find the Perfect Toy at Toy Corner

Holiday Specs 3D Glasses
Updated: January 16, 2015 - 12:06 pm

Build-A-Bear Workshop at Fair Oaks Mall
Updated: January 16, 2015 - 12:06 pm

I’m not sure if my kids’ little bodies will be able to handle the excitement of Disneyworld—they could barely contain themselves at the new Build-A-Bear store in Fair Oaks Mall!  I’m stingy on stuff like this; I always opt for nature-filled adventures rather than stuff-centered activities, so my kids fully appreciated the outing.

Toys
Updated: February 10, 2015 - 11:04 am

Check out these Mom Reviews of toys for your kids!

Lil Fairy Door
Updated: April 03, 2015 - 1:17 pm

 

Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles Flingers Donatello
Updated: April 03, 2015 - 1:27 pm

American Girl Bitty Baby Review
Updated: April 17, 2015 - 2:58 pm

We love this doll! My daughter is now at the age (2 yrs.) where she likes to play with baby dolls. Being mommy, feeding and taking care of her “babies” has become a frequent playtime activity at our house. Lately, she has been playing with my doll (which is probably 30 years old), so I have been thinking about getting her a doll of her own. I was really excited to learn that American Girl recently came out with a baby doll line, the Bitty Baby. What I most love about this doll is it is very high quality, and I know it will be around for my daughter to play with for a long time and, hopefully, someday her children will be able to play with it.

Air Hawk Missile Launcher
Updated: April 17, 2015 - 3:00 pm

Launcher toy fun for boys

Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles Core Action Figures and Shellraiser Assault Vehicle
Updated: April 17, 2015 - 3:05 pm

 

Candy Tung-Toos
Updated: April 17, 2015 - 3:05 pm

Tongue Art Candy is Silly Fun

Crayola Marker Maker Review
Updated: April 17, 2015 - 3:07 pm

I really like this toy. My son already has the Crayola Crayon Maker, so I thought he would love this too, and he does. As a parent, I also liked it because it allows him to be creative and kept his quietly busy for a long time. He is able to make up colors and cool names for each one of them. Also I thought it was great for him to make personalized gifts for friends. 

Kyrptonics Torpedo Skateboard
Updated: April 22, 2015 - 7:09 pm

Skateboard is Small But Sturdy

Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtle Combat Shell & Deluxe Mask
Updated: April 22, 2015 - 7:09 pm

The Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtle costume comprises the shell and mask only, and are recommended for ages four and up. My 4-year-old son is on the small size, but my 8-year-old son is closer to average. The shell fit both boys, though it was a little large on the 4-year-old. Adjustable shoulder and waist straps make it smaller or larger as needed.

Curly Girlz Party Pack Dress Bracelet Kit Review
Updated: April 22, 2015 - 7:19 pm

I have a 4-year-old daughter, which means that we have a healthy collection of beads and string and necklaces and bracelets scattered about our house. Most of these are a random assortment of multi-colored, plastic beads strung along a piece of plastic-coated string, tied precariously together. So when we saw the Party Pack Dress Bracelet Kit by Curly Girlz, my daughter and I couldn’t wait to open it.