Washington FAMILY Magazine: Local Businesses

Follow us on social media

Facebook Twitter Instagram Pinterest Google+ YouTube

Local Businesses

Recent Headlines

Wednesday 04/13/2016
FIT4MOM
Posted: April 13, 2016

I had the pleasure of attending both a Stroller Strides and Body Back class at FIT4MOM-Lorton- Springfield-Burke-LakeRidge.

Wednesday 07/08/2015
Recess Monkey at Wolf Trap Theater-in-the-Woods
Posted: July 08, 2015

If you’ve not been to Wolf Trap’s Theater-in-the-Woods, add it to your summer bucket list. Across a green meadow and tucked behind the large, impressive Filene Center that seats 7,000, the little Children’s Theater-in-the-Woods sits halfway hidden within a tall, thick batch of trees. The wooden benches are modest, and the stage looks simple (although I’m sure more went into its construction than I’m aware). There’s something really special about this place— I suggest you bring a little bug spray, your hiking shoes, plenty of water and a picnic to make a whole day of it.

Friday 04/17/2015
Mom Review: Shadowland Laser Adventures
Updated: April 17, 2015 - 12:12 pm

I’m the mom who for years has done the drive-by at ShadowLand, dropping off and picking up kids. My 12 and 16-year olds have a long history with laser tag parties – both the formal ones and the impromptu snow day gatherings. It wasn’t until my 6 year-old daughter picked ShadowLand for a birthday party venue that I finally got to strap on one of the blinking vests.

Monday 12/01/2014
Discovering Aikido: A Workout for Your Body & Mind
Posted: December 01, 2014

Recently my coworkers asked me to review an Aikido class at the Reston Pilates studio in our office building. It was a last-minute decision so I wasn’t quite sure what to expect, but was game to give it a try. I arrived early and observed the end of a children’s class. Five students in white gis (martial arts training uniforms) were doing stretches and what looked like meditation.

Kinder Haus Toy Store
Updated: January 16, 2015 - 11:36 am

Embrace Your Inner Child

Kid to Kid Rockville
Updated: January 16, 2015 - 11:43 am

 

PB & Jack
Updated: January 16, 2015 - 11:43 am

 Come Have Some Fun at PB & Jack

Tasty Image
Updated: January 16, 2015 - 11:46 am

If you’re into chocolate — and I’m a mom talking to moms, so that’s all of us — Tasty Image is just so the place for you! It offers a truly unique chocolate product. It’s where two of my favorite things come together: adorable pictures of my kids and chocolate. It’s what Willie Wonka would do if he worked at a Fotomat. Tasty Image actually prints your pictures onto its chocolate products.

Ski Liberty
Updated: January 16, 2015 - 11:54 am

 

Sweet City Desserts
Updated: January 16, 2015 - 11:57 am

 Sweet City Desserts

Frosting
Updated: January 16, 2015 - 11:57 am

 

Alison's Boutique
Updated: January 16, 2015 - 11:58 am

Alison's Boutique Offers Fun, Trendy Fashions

Pirate's Booty
Updated: January 16, 2015 - 11:57 am

Ahoy Mateys! Grab Yourselves Some Pirate's Booty!

Little Lords and Ladies
Updated: January 16, 2015 - 12:02 pm

 Run, Don't Walk to this Treasure

Zos Kitchen Spice of Life
Updated: January 16, 2015 - 12:05 pm

Spice Up Your Recipes!

Build-A-Bear Workshop at Fair Oaks Mall
Updated: January 16, 2015 - 12:06 pm

I’m not sure if my kids’ little bodies will be able to handle the excitement of Disneyworld—they could barely contain themselves at the new Build-A-Bear store in Fair Oaks Mall!  I’m stingy on stuff like this; I always opt for nature-filled adventures rather than stuff-centered activities, so my kids fully appreciated the outing.

Lemongrass Spa
Updated: January 16, 2015 - 12:15 pm

Relax and Rejuvenate with These Spa Products

Local Businesses
Updated: February 10, 2015 - 10:56 am

Check out these Mom Reviews of great local businesses in the Washington, DC area!

Flow Blow Dry & Beauty Bar Review
Updated: March 05, 2015 - 5:35 pm

When presented with the opportunity to review a local beauty salon, I couldn’t type quick enough to respond. Who wouldn’t jump at the chance to get their glam on? Driving to my appointment at Flow Blow Dry & Beauty Bar in Reston, I was giddy with excitement. My two boys were home with daddy, and I was about to have two hours of pampering.

Clay Cafe Chantilly
Updated: March 05, 2015 - 5:40 pm

Embrace Your Inner Artist

ShadowLand
Updated: March 05, 2015 - 6:22 pm

Come Have Some Family Fun at ShadowLand!

The Sugar Cube
Updated: March 05, 2015 - 6:22 pm

 

Toy Kingdom Toy Store
Updated: March 05, 2015 - 6:28 pm

 Toy Kingdom Keeps Little Ones Busy so Moms and Dads Can Shop

Sport Bounce of Loudoun
Updated: April 03, 2015 - 1:37 pm

Come Jump for Joy at Sport Bounce of Loudoun!

Red Velvet Cupcakery
Updated: April 17, 2015 - 2:59 pm

 

Zoes Kitchen
Updated: April 17, 2015 - 3:28 pm

 

Skyhawk Limousine
Updated: April 17, 2015 - 4:01 pm

  Make Your Outing Extra Special With Skyhawk Limousine!

Go Bananas! Toy Store
Updated: April 22, 2015 - 6:11 pm

 

Kid Trips: Northern Virginia Edition
Updated: April 22, 2015 - 6:52 pm

A Must-Have Guide to Local Fun!