Washington FAMILY Magazine: Books

Follow us on social media

Facebook Twitter Instagram Pinterest Google+ YouTube

Books

Recent Headlines

Thursday 08/31/2017
DK’s Early Literacy Program
Updated: August 31, 2017 - 4:35 pm

As my eldest is finishing up preschool and heading to kindergarten, we are beginning to explore early reading. We have combed the library shelves for easy readers and found many different options. While my son loves the fictional, illustrated early readers that feature recognizable cartoon characters, he also enjoys the DK Readers that we were sent to try out, newly released this summer.

Wednesday 12/07/2016
What Great Parents Do
Updated: January 11, 2017 - 4:53 pm

What Great Parents Do

Wednesday 11/23/2016
This Is Me
Updated: October 09, 2017 - 4:03 pm

I loved reading this story, and my 8-year-old cousin was fascinated by it. The book starts out with a teacher talking to her class about where her ancestors are from and how they had to choose what they would pack to bring on their journey to America. She explains that her great grandmother was none too happy about leaving everything she owned behind. The teacher then asks the students what they would pack in their suitcase if they were traveling to a new place and had to leave their old home behind. Several of the pages contain various students in the class and the items they would chose to take: one student would take his pet rat, another would take her Katy Perry concert ticket, one would make sure she had her Barbie, while another would take their grandfather's glasses.

Wednesday 11/16/2016
Little Bitty Friends
Updated: November 16, 2016 - 12:10 pm

This book is adorable. It starts off with the author dedicating the book to her child “who saw and loved the little things that only little eyes can see." That sums up exactly what this book is about...seeing nature through the eyes of toddlers and how they simply adore the tiny things in life.

Wednesday 10/26/2016
Casey and Friends Books
Posted: October 26, 2016

      

Wednesday 09/07/2016
Bunnies Are a Lot Like You and Me
Updated: September 13, 2016 - 5:39 pm

Many families with young children are often contemplating whether or not add a pet to their household. One of the biggest concerns when making the decision is if the children are old enough and will understand how important it is to care for another living creature.

Wednesday 05/18/2016
Hockey Hero by Zachary Hyman
Posted: May 18, 2016

I have three kids, and I read to them separately at bedtime. I know this isn’t efficient and drags out the process, but I like spending time with them one-on-one right before they sleep. I also like that at the end of their day they don’t have to compromise yet again with a sibling: they can simply choose whatever book it is they want me to read to them.

Wednesday 03/16/2016
"It's Only Stanley" by Jon Agee
Posted: March 16, 2016

I subscribe to a handful of book-filled, children’s literature newsletters; many of them include a "books coming out soon" section. It's Only Stanley was on many of those lists for many weeks. So when I finally had the chance to hold it in my hands and read it for the first time, I was curious if it was going to be as good as the hype suggested it would be.

Wednesday 03/02/2016
Nest by Esther Erlich
Posted: March 02, 2016

Nest is a deeply moving, deeply serious middle grade novel by author Esther Erlich about a good girl forced to deal with tragically bad news.

Wednesday 02/17/2016
Kidliga Sammie and Sax 3 Piece Porcelain Place Setting, and Sammie and Sax in the Land of Quinoa Book
Posted: February 17, 2016

One of the biggest challenges each day as a parent is providing healthy choices for my children at meal time. The best way I have found to get my 4-year old son to eat a variety of foods is to involve him in the food shopping, meal planning and meal preparation process. This place setting and book from Kidliga provide another teaching tool for mealtime itself, focusing on balanced nutrition and healthy portion sizes.

Wednesday 01/20/2016
Kate the Great Except When She’s Not
Posted: January 20, 2016

Meet Kate. Kate is a fifth-grader, a middle child, a girl who keeps a diary. In this whimsical coming-of-age story, Kate in Kate the Great Except When She’s Not (Random House, 2014) confronts the normal concerns of fitting in, friending the right kids and doing the right thing.

Saturday 12/26/2015
From Sea to Shining Sea By Callista Gingrich
Posted: December 26, 2015

Callista Gingrich is adding another book to her New York Times best selling Ellis the Elephant series. Gingrich has already used America’s “favorite time-traveling pachyderm” to teach young children about important moments in American history. Gingrich and illustrator Susan Arciero have already teamed up to produce and publish three Ellis the Elephant books to date: Sweet Land of Liberty, Land of the Pilgrims’ Pride, and Yankee Doodle Dandy.

Friday 12/11/2015
Sesame Street: Let’s Cook
Posted: December 11, 2015

By Sesame Workshop and Susan McQuillan, RD

Monday 11/23/2015
I, Humanity By Jeffery Bennett
Posted: November 23, 2015

I, Humanity is one of seven new books heading up to the International Space Station on Orbital 4, set to launch December 3. Jeff Bennett’s first five children’s books are currently in orbit, being read by astronauts on the ISS to children on Earth. Two videos are now available on StoryTimeFromSpace.com.

Wednesday 11/04/2015
InvisiBill
Posted: November 04, 2015

By Maureen Fergus

Wednesday 10/28/2015
Hope Springs
Posted: October 28, 2015

By Eric Walters

Wednesday 10/21/2015
Ballerina Dreams
Posted: October 21, 2015

By Michaela DePrince

Wednesday 10/14/2015
Who Needs a Reef?
Posted: October 14, 2015

By Karen Patkau

Wednesday 10/07/2015
Who Needs a Prairie?
Posted: October 07, 2015

By Karen Patkau

Wednesday 09/30/2015
Meet the Incredible Romans (The Wonderful World of Simon Abbott)
Posted: September 30, 2015

By John Malam

Wednesday 09/02/2015
Baby Peekaboo and Baby Night-Night By Amy Pixton
Posted: September 02, 2015

Both of these books are from the "Indestructibles" series. The publisher claims the books are chew proof, rip proof, nontoxic and washable. Kate Merritt's bright and colorful illustrations are attention grabbing.

Wednesday 08/26/2015
Not Every Princess By Jeffrey Bone and Lisa Bone
Posted: August 26, 2015

From the title, I expected this book to be about an unusual type of princess. Or at least, about a princess. It is not. The book is about make-believe characters kids dream about or pretend to be (mermaids, superheroes, pirates, knights, etc.) The pictures in the book show children in several different scenarios (such as flying a kite or exploring in an attic), but often it's the girl in the knight role and boy in the mermaid role to show that gender stereotypes can be broken. The book was light on words and had a rhyming theme throughout. The words were easy for my 4 year-old to understand. And I really enjoyed the illustrations --Valeria Docampo did an amazing job.

Friday 08/14/2015
This Is Sadie by Sara O'Leary
Posted: August 14, 2015

Meet Sadie. Sadie isn’t your typical little girl. She isn’t even your typical little-girl-with-a-big-imagination. In fact, the reader has a hard time figuring out who Sadie is, exactly, because she is so many things. She’s into so many things. She does so many things.

Saturday 08/08/2015
Magic Tree House Survival Guide
Posted: August 08, 2015

There is so much to love about the Magic Tree House series! Mary Pope Osborne has been churning them out since 1992, taking her characters and my own children (and probably yours, too) on adventures all over the world and throughout history. Through research and clues, their own smarts and courage, they solve mysteries anywhere and everywhere.

Wednesday 07/15/2015
Marlene, Marlene, Queen of Mean
Posted: July 15, 2015

By Jane Lynch

Wednesday 06/24/2015
While You Were Napping
Posted: June 24, 2015

By Jenny Offill

Wednesday 06/10/2015
Who Needs a Desert?
Posted: June 10, 2015

By Karen Patkau

Wednesday 05/27/2015
Recipes for Play: Creative Activities for Small Hands and Big Imaginations!
Posted: May 27, 2015

By Rachel Sumner and Ruth Mitchener

Wednesday 04/22/2015
Meet the Ancient Egyptians
Posted: April 22, 2015

We are a family of travelers, and I can’t resist a book that has to do with other cultures, places around the world or provides a story about a time in the past. Meet the Ancient Egyptians immediately appealed to me before I even turned to the first page. The cover invites you to learn about life in ancient Egypt.

Friday 01/16/2015
Horton and the Kwuggerbug and More Lost Stories Mom Review
Updated: January 16, 2015 - 10:25 am

Horton and the Kwuggerbug and More Lost Stories is a collection of Dr. Seuss tales originally published in magazines in the 1950s. Nearly forgotten for 60 years, Random House released the first batch of similar stories in 2011 in a collection called The Bippolo Seed and Other Lost Stories. These new printings have brought to light tales that are largely unknown to today’s audience.

Thursday 01/15/2015
Doug Unplugs on the Farm Mom Review
Updated: January 15, 2015 - 5:51 pm

Meet Doug. He’s a robot. He’s a young robot whose parents want him to be the smartest robot ever. His robot mom and robot dad accomplish this by plugging in Doug for lengthy downloads full of facts and figures.

The Crew Goes Coconuts Mom Review
Updated: January 15, 2015 - 5:30 pm

The Crew Goes Coconuts By: Carole P. Roman

Wednesday 01/14/2015
I See Me!: M is for Me
Updated: January 15, 2015 - 5:54 pm

Do you know how kids go through phases where they are obsessed with one certain thing? For example, my nearly six year old son can’t get enough baseball—he’ll read anything baseball-related, from picture books to the sports section of the New York Times. My 7-year-old daughter has a “crafternoon” when she comes home from school most days, and often raids my recycling (I prohibit the dirty, messy stuff) to get new materials.

Sunday 01/11/2015
Dinosaur Wars: Deadly Dinosaurs Go Head-to-Head Mom Review
Updated: January 15, 2015 - 5:58 pm

Get ready for your child to bare his teeth, pull out his claws, and roar in excitement after looking at this book. Dinosaur Wars: Deadly Dinosaurs Go Head-to-Head is jam-packed with battling, fighting, clawing, biting, attacking dinosaurs—perfect for any kid who is already a serious dinosaur enthusiast.

Wednesday 01/07/2015
I See Me!: Heidi's Farm Friends Mom Review
Updated: January 15, 2015 - 6:00 pm

I have several I See Me! books for my own children on our crowded bookshelves here in our home. My daughter received a customized My Very Own Name when she was born from family friends. It wasn’t one we read to her often until she realized that it was in fact, about her very own name, and then she chose it frequently for bedtime and anytime readings.

Sunday 01/04/2015
I See Me!: A Day in the Life of a Princess
Updated: January 15, 2015 - 5:53 pm

I have several I See Me! books for my own children on our crowded bookshelves here in our home. My daughter received a customized My Very Own Name when she was born from family friends. It wasn’t one we read to her often until she realized that it was in fact, about her very own name, and then she chose it frequently for bedtime and anytime readings.

Saturday 01/01/2000
Dirty Rotten Pirates Mom Review
Updated: January 15, 2015 - 6:01 pm

Be forewarned: After reading this book, your kids might call each other “matey” and threaten to make you walk the plank if you feed them spinach and broccoli. Then again, you might cook them fish- and onion-filled salmagundi for dinner if they don’t mend the ship’s sails or ropes…

Louise Yates' Dog Loves Counting Review
Updated: January 16, 2015 - 11:32 am

Here is Louise Yates' third book with the sweet character Dog showing us what he loves. Once again in Dog Loves Counting, Dog's problem lies with books: He loves them so much that he cannot stop reading them. While he should be sleeping, Dog keeps turning pages. Finally, he puts his last book on the closest stack next to him and tries to sleep. No luck. "He tried counting sheep, but they weren't helping at all."

Mom Reviews: Thanksgiving Reads
Updated: January 16, 2015 - 11:34 am

Field of Peace
Updated: January 16, 2015 - 11:36 am

 

Cowboy Christmas
Updated: January 16, 2015 - 11:42 am

Lasso A Fun Holiday Read With Cowboy Christmas

Not For Parents: China: Everything You Ever Wanted to Know
Updated: January 16, 2015 - 11:44 am

 

Marshall the Courthouse Mouse, Woodrow the White House Mouse, House Mouse Senate Mouse
Updated: January 16, 2015 - 11:44 am

 

Star Wars Origami: 36 Amazing Paper-folding Projects from a Galaxy Far, Far Away
Updated: January 16, 2015 - 11:45 am

 Use the Force (and your hands!)

Songs in the Shade of the Flamboyant Tree: Book/CD
Updated: January 16, 2015 - 11:49 am

 French Creole Lullabies and Nursery Rhymes Are a Cultural Treat

Salina Yoon's Where's Boo?
Updated: January 16, 2015 - 11:50 am

In this Halloween-themed board book, the young reader is supposed to find where Boo the Cat is hiding. On each page, the child is trying to figure out if Boo is hiding behind a Halloween object. However, another Halloween character, such as a spider or witch, is actually hiding there. On the last page, Boo is found trick-or-treating.

A Splash of Red: The Life and Art of Horace Pippen
Updated: January 16, 2015 - 11:51 am

 

Mead Early Learning Workbooks
Updated: January 16, 2015 - 11:50 am

Activity Books Make Learning Fun!

Small Bunny's Blue Blanket: Children's Book
Updated: January 16, 2015 - 11:51 am

Small Bunny’s Blue Blanket Is Relatable Tale