Washington FAMILY Magazine: Mom Reviews

Follow us on social media

Facebook Twitter Instagram Pinterest Google+ YouTube

Mom Reviews

rss feed

Top Story

The Patchwork Bear – Preserving Memories in Cuddly Fashion

Tucked away in each of my child's closets is one bin of my favorite baby clothes. I had to limit myself or they all would have been saved! Though some are stained and a bit worn, they all have a place in my heart and trigger fond memories. The only time I see them, however, is if I pull out the bins. 

  • icon Updated: June 04

Recent Headlines

Wednesday 03/28/2018
Llama Llama Plush-arama!
Updated: March 28, 2018 - 12:33 pm

I was introduced to the Llama Llama series by author and illustrator Anna Dewdney when my son was born. I was enamored by the catchy, rhyming titles but also grew to love the stories. Each one had a subtle message of comfort or a behavior lesson that we could use when encountering troubles with the developmental milestones (sleeping alone, missing mom, bullying, etc.). I was happy to check out the new line of Llama plush characters from Kids Preferred, LLC. They make great accompaniments to the books and further encourage a child’s engagement with the stories.

Friday 02/16/2018
3-D Motokits
Updated: February 16, 2018 - 4:24 pm

3-D Motokits

Tuesday 01/30/2018
Strengths Based Parenting
Updated: February 05, 2018 - 12:11 pm

Strengths Based Parenting

Friday 11/10/2017
Lycee Rochambeau - The French International School
Updated: November 10, 2017 - 3:41 pm

The French International School is a place where children start from the beginning to learn in a well-rounded and thorough way. We were amazed that by the end of one year in the Immersion program, our English-only speaking daughter was able to continue in a full-fledged 100% French speaking classroom with native French speaking peers.

Monday 10/09/2017
Peek-A-Zoo T-Shirt: Wearable Education
Updated: October 09, 2017 - 4:05 pm

Children love to play dress up! I still remember the trunk we had in our attic full of fun things to pull out and pretend with. The Peek-A-Zoo collection is a great line of clothing for children who love animals and like to pretend to be one.

Thursday 08/31/2017
DK’s Early Literacy Program
Updated: August 31, 2017 - 4:35 pm

As my eldest is finishing up preschool and heading to kindergarten, we are beginning to explore early reading. We have combed the library shelves for easy readers and found many different options. While my son loves the fictional, illustrated early readers that feature recognizable cartoon characters, he also enjoys the DK Readers that we were sent to try out, newly released this summer.

Wednesday 07/26/2017
Buzzfeed's Tasty Junior Cookbook
Updated: July 26, 2017 - 4:14 pm

Buzzfeed Tasty has become known for it’s aerial-view cooking videos of sometimes simple or sometimes indulgent recipes. Tasty Junior does this in the same fashion, but in a kid-friendly way.

Monday 07/17/2017
Chantilly Academy Preschool
Updated: July 26, 2017 - 5:10 pm

The Chantilly Academy Preschool program and its staff have become an extension of our family. It is clear they really see my son and take the time to nurture and guide his individual strengths and growth areas.

Tuesday 06/27/2017
BABYBUG and CLICK Magazines from Cricket Media
Updated: June 27, 2017 - 4:14 pm

Reading has become a fun, family-time event for my children and me.

Thursday 06/08/2017
Beech-Nut Snacks
Updated: June 08, 2017 - 2:05 pm

Snacks are an integral part of my kids’ day, and a main source of nutrition because, let’s face it, snacks are more fun to eat than actual meals! My toddler has been snacking on Beech-Nut purees since infancy, so I was happy to try out their other snacks with her and my youngest son who is 10 months old.

Monday 06/05/2017
COBBLESTONE Magazine: Discover American History
Updated: June 14, 2017 - 2:57 pm

My teenage son, Sebastian, and I were in our pediatrician’s lobby and I noticed COBBLESTONE Magazine in the bookrack. COBBLESTONE Magazine is all about history. Knowing Sebastian is a huge lover of history, I thought the colorful cover of a poster of a World War I soldier would be of interest to him. He also just finished reading, “All Quite on the Western Front,” a book that describes a German soldier’s stress during World War I.

Wednesday 05/31/2017
A Dog's Purpose
Updated: May 31, 2017 - 4:19 pm

“A Dog’s Purpose” is a heartfelt movie, perfect for any dog lover. But, get the tissues handy; this movie is a tearjerker. The movie is based on the love a dog has for his human and the special connection shared.

Tuesday 05/23/2017
DC Bike Ride
Updated: June 22, 2017 - 2:13 pm

Have you ever wondered what it would be like to travel throughout D.C. without any traffic? To be able to go through tunnels without worrying of a sudden stop. To be merging onto the 395 Southbound without fear of congestion. To be on the Whitehurst Freeway and soaking up the views, and not the views of someone’s car rear bumper?

Wednesday 05/10/2017
A Joyful Time in the Tub with Joyful Bath Co.
Posted: May 10, 2017

With a toddler in the house, we are always running a bath. Whether it’s the latest potty training accident or a “really fun” afternoon in the mud, there’s always a reason to dump my kid into the water. I’m pretty picky when it comes to body products for my kids; in particular, I avoid synthetic fragrances and harsh chemicals. My daughter also has highly sensitive skin so I always worry whether a product will irritate or cause red blotches.

Tuesday 05/02/2017
CHI Au Pair USA
Updated: May 02, 2017 - 6:03 pm

My husband and I both work outside the home and travel frequently. Because of this, CHI Au Pair’s program is perfect for us, as we need another adult at home. We have loved all six of our au pairs. They are all loving, wonderful young women. For example, one of our most recent au pairs, Edina, became a part of our family as soon as she arrived at our Virginia home from Romania.

Wednesday 04/12/2017
Spice Up Your Dinner Routine with 8 Myles Sauces
Posted: April 12, 2017

Looking for a way to spice up your dinner routine? Then you need to check out 8 Myles sauces, a DC-based sauce company. I recently tried a variety of the 8 Myles sauces, and they most definitely added a surge of flavor to our dinnertime favorites.

Wednesday 04/05/2017
Nail Saloon
Updated: April 05, 2017 - 6:45 pm

I was a habitual nail biter for 28 years: I bit the nail right to the pink quick. My cuticles were always ripped or scabbed, and I had no idea what most of the tools were in little nail filings kit. (Still don’t.) There were some attempts at ending the habit, but I only ever made it a few weeks before the nails got chomped right off. I hardly painted my nails, let alone had a manicure because what was the point of painting little pink stubs?

Wednesday 03/08/2017
Saltopia
Posted: March 08, 2017

Saltopia Artisan Infused Sea Salts immediately gained my attention when I read the company is headquartered in New Jersey, not far from where I was born and raised. I was excited to learn more about a successful business using fresh, locally grown ingredients.

Wednesday 03/01/2017
Project Repat T-Shirt Quilt
Posted: March 01, 2017

My daughter, now a college freshman, was actively involved in her high school theatre program. The drama department produced several shows a year, and students could purchase a t-shirt for each show, so she amassed quite a collection.

Wednesday 02/22/2017
Disney on Ice: “Follow Your Heart”
Posted: February 22, 2017

Both of my children were begging to go back to a Disney on Ice show after last year. Luckily we got the chance to attend this year’s show, “Follow Your Heart,” at Eagle Bank Arena in Fairfax. We could barely contain them until the 6:30 p.m. showtime! We got to the arena about 30 minutes early, which allowed us time to hit the restrooms and find our seats before the show started. Right on time, the lights dimmed and the show began!

Wednesday 02/15/2017
Twist and Seal Products
Updated: February 21, 2017 - 3:00 pm

I was sent the Twist and Seal Large Cord Dome, Mini Cord Protector as well as the Heavy Duty Cord Protector. These products are great for indoor or outdoor use.

Wednesday 02/08/2017
Water Wipes
Posted: February 08, 2017

Let me just start by saying how much I love this product! I was super excited when I received these in the mail since I'd already heard great things about them from other moms.

Wednesday 02/01/2017
Kleynimals
Updated: February 06, 2017 - 4:21 pm

Kleyanimals are non-toxic, stainless steel toy keys designed to entertainment your baby and serve as a teething toy as well. Kleynimals come in a convenient muslin pouch which I really like because I can easily take it on the go and keep it sanitized. Each key features very cute designs of a lion, elephant and a giraffe and is very nicely detailed. It's clear that a lot of thought went into the design process.

Wednesday 01/25/2017
Chuck E. Cheese's
Posted: January 25, 2017

Chuck E. Cheese’s: Pizza, Prizes and Parties, Oh My!

Wednesday 01/18/2017
Family Fun and Sun at Clearwater Beach, FL
Updated: January 19, 2017 - 12:02 pm

Family Fun and Sun at Clearwater Beach, FL

Tuesday 01/10/2017
Treehouse Eyes
Updated: January 10, 2017 - 12:37 pm

A treatment for kids that can correct and then stop or slow the worsening of their nearsightedness? What? No way, I had no idea this existed! Does this mean that I can save my daughter from what I experienced growing up, with progressively worse and worse vision (and thicker and thicker lenses)? She could play sports without glasses? Swim with great vision? See when she wakes up in the morning? Tell me more!

Wednesday 01/04/2017
Neal Brothers Kettle Chips
Updated: January 06, 2017 - 2:38 pm

Neal Brothers Kettle Chips

Wednesday 12/28/2016
Christmas Illuminations at Mount Vernon
Posted: December 28, 2016

Our family was given the opportunity to attend one of the special holiday events at Mount Vernon: Christmas Illuminations. Held this year on the Friday and Saturday evenings before Christmas (Dec. 16 and 17), this event provides a way to experience Mount Vernon in a whole new light, no pun intended! It is described by Mount Vernon as “an evening of family-friendly fun and fireworks.” We couldn’t wait to see what they had planned for this special evening.

Wednesday 12/07/2016
What Great Parents Do
Updated: January 11, 2017 - 4:53 pm

What Great Parents Do

Wednesday 11/30/2016
Preschool Pop Stars: “Daycare Dance Party”
Posted: November 30, 2016

After a few long car trips this summer, our music collection was getting a bit repetitive. I try very hard to keep the music in our car at an appropriate level for my children, ages 2 and 5, which can be quite challenging when relying on the radio. We were eager to try out a new children’s CD, “Daycare Dance Party” by the Preschool Popstars, to add to our collection of car sing-a-longs and pre-bedtime dance parties.

Wednesday 11/23/2016
This Is Me
Updated: October 09, 2017 - 4:03 pm

I loved reading this story, and my 8-year-old cousin was fascinated by it. The book starts out with a teacher talking to her class about where her ancestors are from and how they had to choose what they would pack to bring on their journey to America. She explains that her great grandmother was none too happy about leaving everything she owned behind. The teacher then asks the students what they would pack in their suitcase if they were traveling to a new place and had to leave their old home behind. Several of the pages contain various students in the class and the items they would chose to take: one student would take his pet rat, another would take her Katy Perry concert ticket, one would make sure she had her Barbie, while another would take their grandfather's glasses.

Wednesday 11/16/2016
Little Bitty Friends
Updated: November 16, 2016 - 12:10 pm

This book is adorable. It starts off with the author dedicating the book to her child “who saw and loved the little things that only little eyes can see." That sums up exactly what this book is about...seeing nature through the eyes of toddlers and how they simply adore the tiny things in life.

Wednesday 11/09/2016
The World of Eric Carle Super Dough
Posted: November 09, 2016

One of our favorite children’s authors, Eric Carle, is known for his beautiful colors and beloved characters that are featured in his books. Kids Preferred is bringing these characters to life for children with their new clay compound, Super Dough. If your child loves hands-on play and creating/sculpting/molding, this is a great new product to check out!

Wednesday 11/02/2016
Violet Love Children’s Headbands
Posted: November 02, 2016

One of my favorite things about my 2-year-old daughter is her long, wavy brown hair. When she cooperates, we can make beautiful ponytails, braids or just clip it back with cute barrettes. Lately, however, she has decided she doesn't like to have her hair messed with, not even combing! The result is a messy mop that is constantly in her face.  

Wednesday 10/26/2016
Casey and Friends Books
Posted: October 26, 2016

      

Wednesday 10/19/2016
Great Wolf Lodge
Posted: October 19, 2016

Our family regularly cruises down I-64 past Great Wolf Lodge in Williamsburg to visit relatives. Sometimes the backseat remains quiet as we pass, but more often than not I find myself fielding questions from our three boys, ages 4, 6 and 9, like "Can we go there sometime?" and "What is that place?" As is so often the case in parenting, the questioning gained in intensity until we finally cracked and said, "OK, let's go!"

Wednesday 10/12/2016
Floof
Posted: October 12, 2016

We have a big bin of arts and crafts supplies at our house, including lots of modeling substances – clay, playdough, sand – which are all used on a regular basis for hands-on sensory play. When we got the opportunity to try out the newest product called Floof, my children couldn’t wait for it to arrive.

Wednesday 10/05/2016
Piggy Paint Natural as Mud Nail Polish
Posted: October 05, 2016

My 4-year-old daughter and I were excited to try the Piggy Paint Natural as Mud nail polish. The name alone and picture of a little pig with painted nails on the bottle had her giggling! I had also heard buzz about the product on social media. The line comes in a variety of bright, vibrant colors that appeal to kids (and adults).

Wednesday 09/14/2016
Feltman Brothers Dress
Posted: September 14, 2016

One of my favorite parts of having a little girl is dressing her up, especially for holidays. This Easter was early and cold, but we still wanted a traditional, spring dress. Feltman Brother’s Bouquet collection provided a beautiful choice for the holiday. Their heirloom style clothing provides traditional styles that can be handed down through families throughout the years.

Wednesday 09/07/2016
Bunnies Are a Lot Like You and Me
Updated: September 13, 2016 - 5:39 pm

Many families with young children are often contemplating whether or not add a pet to their household. One of the biggest concerns when making the decision is if the children are old enough and will understand how important it is to care for another living creature.

Wednesday 08/31/2016
BooginHead Products
Posted: August 31, 2016

BooginHead LLC, is a company founded by a mom trying to solve a recurring problem with children’s gear (a familiar description in the world of children’s products these days).

Wednesday 08/24/2016
A Bright World of Gardening: Eric Carle Inspired Garden Collection
Posted: August 24, 2016

Spring has sprung, opening the door for lots of outdoor play. In addition to swinging and blowing bubbles, our children have shown an interest helping around the yard. My son and I grew sunflowers last year, and watching that process piqued his interest in gardening.

Wednesday 08/17/2016
Lorena Canals Rugs: Décor that Gives Back
Posted: August 17, 2016

Interior decorating has always been a big challenge for me. While I love seeing beautiful rooms and have every intention of creating cozy spaces in my own home, I always seem to have trouble finding the right combination of décor. Since we moved into our new home a few years ago, I have been looking for unique pieces to create a personalized and child-friendly living space. The playroom was up next on my list when I was introduced to Lorena Canals rugs.

Monday 08/15/2016
Become a Mom Reviewer!
Updated: March 07, 2017 - 3:13 pm

 

Wednesday 08/10/2016
SummerFest at Gaylord National
Updated: August 10, 2016 - 12:21 pm

The Gaylord National, located at the National Harbor, has the perfect family getaway ready for you this summer. It is a great mixture of family fun, adventure and relaxation. Here is a peek into our weekend, and an idea of what you can expect when purchasing a SummerFest package.

Wednesday 08/03/2016
Potomac Nationals Game
Posted: August 03, 2016

My family and I recently ventured out to the Pfitzner Stadium, home of the Potomac Nationals, and had a blast soaking in all of the baseball glory. My son particularly enjoyed the game, but they have a number of fun elements to keep it entertaining for everyone.

Tuesday 08/02/2016
Floof
Updated: August 03, 2016 - 6:01 pm

We have a big bin of arts and crafts supplies at our house, including lots of modeling substances – clay, playdough, sand – which are all used on a regular basis for hands-on sensory play. When we got the opportunity to try out the newest product called Floof, my children couldn’t wait for it to arrive.

Wednesday 07/27/2016
Inchbug Labels
Updated: July 28, 2016 - 3:44 pm

Baby bottles, sippy cups, water bottles, snack containers, oh my! As soon as you have a child, a collection begins to build. Whether you’re at home or out and about, it’s hard to keep track of which items belong to which child. We tried labeling bottles and cups with masking tape and sharpies, but that quickly got annoying with leftover adhesive and smudges. Inchbug offers different labeling options that are great alternative.

Wednesday 07/20/2016
Earth’s Best
Posted: July 20, 2016

When I became a mom, all of a sudden I had to make choices that affected a little tiny human, not just myself. This made me increasingly aware of how many harmful, nasty substances are used in all sorts of common food and personal care products. I was bombarded by articles and blog entries warning of these things and suggesting healthy, wholesome alternatives. One company that came up quite frequently as an alternative was Earth’s Best. We have been buying their food products for several years and were excited to check out their latest additions, as well as other products available for families.

Twitter